Quick. Someone smack me.

I’ve been a bad writer. And a bad blogger. I am appropriately shamed, have no worries. My excuse is that I’ve been busy job searching and learning my way around a new state. It’s an excuse in it’s purest form. I’ve had time to sit down to write or blog and just haven’t done it. That’s it. That’s all. I’ll wear a paper bag over my head now. Promise. Writing…right. That’s what this is supposed to be about. As of today, I’m just under 60,000 words into my WIP, currently titled Through the Ghost. I want to get to the 80,000 mark so when I cut stuff out during the oh-so-anticipated editing process I won’t be worried about cutting too much. I have a very rough outline for the rest of the story but I’m having a hard time getting my butt into gear to actually finish it. Procrastination, thy name is Angeline. I did Nanowrimo this year for the first time and won so that’s a plus. Of course, none of that was written on the book I’m trying to finish because that would’ve been way too easy and would’ve made too much sense. I participated in Camp Nano in April and July this year. Those were my first Nano events and I have to say I prefer the comradery and social aspect of Camp over regular Nano. I work better with the pressure of knowing someone is checking in on my word count every day. So how goes it, fellow writers? Anyone else putting off writing and refusing to believe that whole “just write it!” advice we all see so often?

3 responses to “Quick. Someone smack me.

  • Kate M. Colby

    I also won NaNoWriMo this year. However, now that the challenge and its accompanying manuscript are finished, I’ve been quite lazy with my writing. Personally, I’m blaming the holidays for my procrastination, but really, I just need to sit down and get to working on the next manuscript. good luck getting back on track!

    Like

    • angelineroberts

      Thanks! My goal is to knock the rest out by the end of the year. It should be in the neighborhood of 20,000 more words so it’s definitely doable time-wise. Motivation is another story. Thanks for stopping by. Best of luck to you as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  • jadeplowman

    Definitely been putting it off for a long time now. Turning my University Special Project into a full-length novel is exhausting and it’s not like I haven’t had the time. There have been moments where I’ve been lying on the sofa complaining to my other half about being bored, he told me to do some writing, and so naturally, I turned to cleaning our flat. And as much as I hate the ‘new year, new me…’, I am actually going to try and write for a year and get this novel done! You seem much further ahead than me with yours. Good luck, and have fun! Editing sucks, but I’m sure it’ll be worth it in the end! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

